Saturday, 10 September 2016

***Review*** The Forgotten Woman by Angela Marsons



Released: 11th July 2016
Series: No
Publisher: Bookouture
Format: Digital Copy
Source: From Netgalley
Find at  Goodreads | Amazon UK 

Author Site: Angela Marsons

Many thanks to the Publisher and Netgalley for my copy, this is in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

 Two ordinary women. Two damaged lives. One friendship that would save them both
Kit Mason has lived a life of unimaginable pain. An ex-prostitute, she has fled the clutches of an abusive pimp and now finds herself living hand to mouth in a new city, without anyone to help her.

Frances Thornton seems to be living the perfect life. A lawyer from a privileged background, her perfect fa├žade hides the painful secrets that still haunt her.

Brought together by their attempts to conquer their addictions in an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting, the two women strike up an unlikely friendship.

But can they find strength in each other – or will the demons of their past catch up with them?

A compelling, moving and ultimately uplifting novel about overcoming the very worst life can throw at you and starting over. The perfect read for fans of Jodi Picoult and Amanda Prowse.

Previously published as My Name Is


 My Review

I've been really eager to read a book by Angela Marsons, a good friend and fellow book lover has been on at me to read these books.  So Julie, this ones for you.  A huge thank you, for the recommendation and no I was not disappointed. 

This book has not one,  but two flawed main characters, both are female, but neither have that much in common.  Well apart from their addiction to alcohol.  The story follows both Kit and Fran, who come from very different backgrounds.  Their childhood and things from their past both affect their very being. Kit and Fran form a friendship that is strong.

From the word go the story gripped me, it was an exhilarating read with both characters facing different journeys.  I was really satisfied with how things developed and there was just the right amount of tension. It was really satisfying to see both characters change and develop.

Personally I know very little about the struggles with alcohol addiction,  but seeing how each character got to this point really helped me understand their circumstances.  What I take for granted, is not easy and is a struggle for some.

I really did enjoy reading this book and will certainly be checking out more titles by this author.

 Overall: An exciting read about friendship forged from dark places

My Thoughts on the Cover: Simple but effective




 


0 comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a comment :D I'd love to know your thoughts!!!

 
Blog Design By Sweet Dreams Design using the Sweet Summer kit by Kay Miller Designs.